Just another WordPress.com site

This winter has been extremely beautiful in Lithuania. It was an early morning and minus 25 degrees Celsius outside. This landscape feels out of this world, but in fact it’s in the outskirts of my home city, Kaunas—just a mile away from my house. Oftentimes beauty lies just a step away from our door. But we tend to ignore it. Too often we opt to chase beauty in distant exotic locations, missing all that’s around us and ignoring the adverse effects of long-haul flights.

Going for a dogsled ride in Igloolik was an amazing experience. White light, snow lightly falling, and only the sound of the dogs and sled beneath you. Words can’t describe it well enough.

This was captured on Mount Wellington in the capital city of Tasmania, the island state of Australia. This mountain overlooks the city and is only a ten-minute drive from it. I was lucky enough to capture one of the most beautiful sunsets on this very cold winter’s day. I also got some minor frostbite on my hands for the effort. Gloves next time.

This picture is of trees covered in snow, taken outside of west Yellowstone, Montana.

The weather that day at Monument Valley called for a big thunderstorm; instead we got white-out conditions. We made the most of it, and eventually dramatic skies and a contrasting landscape created a very satisfying shot.

What’s the definition of solitude? How about walking forty minutes on a frozen, snow-veiled lake? That was my situation when I went for an early morning hike on Hamlin Lake in Ludington, Michigan, last winter. The visuals were brilliant, surreal and compelling. Complete silence as a mute storm front rolled past overhead. During the walk, I noticed in the distance an isolated structure in the middle of nowhere. The resulting image is what I found.

Horses love the snow; they run, kick, and roll for about the first 20 minutes of being in it.

(This photo and caption were submitted to My Shot.)

Leave a comment